My lockdown saviour tunes…

If you’re living in England right now, you’re most probably and should be at home for a large proportion of your time due to yet another lockdown. I think we’ve all found ways of getting through each boring and long day to make life that little bit easier. For me, other than going to work I’ve been relying on my old faithful MUSIC to get me through, whether that’s singing along to my favourite whilst getting ready in the morning or having some background music to push me through my 57th wardrobe clear out. Without music, I think it’s safe to say I wouldn’t have coped half as well as I have.

*Airpod case – PR Product from Love Cases

With that in mind, I wanted to do a round up of songs I’ve been loving recently and that have helped getting through lockdown 3.0. I used to do this on my blog quite a bit as I am a massive music lover before anything else. If you have any songs you’ve been particularly loving too, feel free to leave a comment with a link below and I’ll be sure to give them a listen. After all sharing is caring especially when it comes to music.

I’ll be leaving a YouTube link to every song mentioned and also leaving a link to my Spotify profile just incase you wanted to follow me for my impeccable music taste.

Shawn Mendes – Song For No One

I mean is it really a music blog post from me if I haven’t mentioned Shawn Mendes, I thought I’d get this song out of the way first so anything else I mention after is a surprise. Song For No One is an album track of Shawn’s new album Wonder which was released late last year. I love the powerful progression of tempo in this song. It starts off super calm and peaceful almost and as the song progressive, the lyrics suggest a bit of an upbeat tempo and then suddenly, the beat drops there’s silence and BAM you’re hit with this explosive breakdown with percussions and I just love it. He kind of improvs the rest of the lyrics and you can really hear the extent of his vocal range in this song. It’s such an unassuming song that catches you almost off guard when first listening to it.

Bring Me The Horizon – Teardrops

I’ll be honest with you, I haven’t been the biggest fan of Bring Me’s latest music offerings. They just haven’t hit the spot for me, I’m all for letting artists explore different styles and genres but it just wasn’t for me. I got into Bring Me around their Sempiternal era so it wasn’t full of screamo but it wasn’t that mainstream much like their previous albums. I liked how there was still this grittiness to their music and it was a bit rough. It was proper head banging music and I just haven’t banged my head to their music that much since. However, when I heard Teardrops something in me felt like I was hearing a bit of the BMTH I loved, there was that big of grittiness to Oli’s voice and it just felt a bit rough. Admittedly I also thought it was a bit Linkin Park inspired as the start of it definitely gave me that sort of techno 2000s vibe that Linkin Park were so known for.

Terrence Trent D’arby – Holding Onto You

This song is as old as me and well it’s aged better than I have to be honest ha. I actually got introduced to this song by a work colleague at my one and only retail job. You probably know TTD other well known song Wishing Well. I just love the mix of soul and roughness in his voice. It’s almost soothing and disruptive in the same way. I love just putting this song on and fully chilling out especially after a stressful day of work. The added layer of the almost rock style guitar just adds another element to this song to make it so interesting. I urge you if you never have before to check out his back catalogue as he’s truly an incredible artist that many look past.

Dance Gavin Dance ft Billmuri – Into The Sunset

Another album track from a 2020 release all be it back in April but I still can’t get enough of it. I just love how different this song is for Dance Gavin Dance but it really works and I hope to see more of this style in the future from them. I think the feature of Billmuri adds that slight different vibe to the song, the mix of almost urban style sound with the roughness of post hardcore…it shouldn’t work but it really does. I’m a massive fan of Billmuri and the style of music he does, it’s alternative but a certain feel of familiarity. The vocals from both Tillian and Billmuri are incredible and blend together to well mixed together with the slower tempo start that slowly builds as the song progresses.

John Mayer – Slow Dancing in a Burning Room – Live at the Nokia Theatre, Los Angeles

I get this is a bit of a specific one for me to include given that it’s not a new song to be me at all and has been around for years but there’s something about this live version that fills me with that warm joyful feeling that just makes my heart happy. If you know me at all, then you’ll know that I love a bit of John Mayer and you can’t beat sticking his smooth soulful voice on whilst trying to relax. Maybe the fact I’m missing live music means that I love this version so much more but I can just hear the emotion of the song in this. I also love how much more raw it sounds in the live version. I’m a firm believer that music is always written to be played live not just recorded and this song definitely translate that well.

Olivia Rodrigo – Driver’s License

Am I surpirsed I’ve included this song in this blog post? HELL YEAH but I don’t regret it at all as this song is so catchy and just enables you to feel some kind of emotion even if you’re not a teenage going through heartache anymore. I knew Oliva Rodrigo was the main female lead in High School Musical, The Musical: The series but with the release of this new single she has been propelled into the mainstream and rightfully so as this song is an absolute gem. Her voice is simply stunning and has all the power you’d need for a song like this. I love the beat drops and it just makes for the best song to dance in your room to.

All right so that’s all the songs I’m giving you today! I think that’s enough to get your lockdown playlists refreshed and hopefully help you through the next few months.

Thanks so much for stopping by and reading my new blog post.

Until next time,

adoseofapril x

Come find me on my other social platforms…

Twitter

Instagram

Photography Instagram

Subscribe to my Youtube Channel

Depop

Pinterest

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.